The Washington Council

The Washington Council

The Washington Council for High School-College Relations operates for educational purposes, and is organized to assist all Washington state students to access and engage in post-secondary opportunities at its member institutions.

The Washington Council for High School-College Relations (WCHSCR)

2018/19 Membership

No separate fee is required to join as a high school member of the Washington Council for High School and College Relations.  All OSPI-recognized high schools in the state of Washington with grade nine (9) or above are eligible for membership. Independent High School Counselors who are members of NACAC and/or PNACAC are eligible to be members.


Washington colleges should review our *Bylaws to determine if your institution is eligible for membership.

*Note: The bylaws are currently under review and some decisions regarding membership may be placed on hold until that review is completed.  Please join or renew your Membership.

2018-2019 Fall Counselor Workshop - Higher Education Book

The 2018-19 Fall Counselor Workshop - Higher Education Book provides descriptions of two- and four-year public and private, non-profit institutions of higher education in Washington State. The latest edition is available to view and download here.
Public/Private Admission Fees & Deadlines
OSPI PPT

2018 Fall Transfer Fairs

The WCHSCR fall transfer fairs, held September through November each year, are designed to inform students in the Washington community and technical college system of their future transfer opportunities at Washington's four-year colleges and universities. 


Fall 2018 Transfer Fair Schedule
WCHSCR Transfer Fair Guidelines

Dues paying WCHSCR member institutions will receive an email prompting them to register for fall transfer fairs on August 1, 2018.  If you are a dues paying member institution and do not receive the registration email on August 1, 2018, contact Myndee Ronning at Myndee.Ronning@cwu.edu. 

The email will be sent to the WCHSCR primary contact listed for each institution.


Four year colleges and universities that are non-WCHSCR members may register for fall transfer fairs on a space available basis starting August 17, 2018.  The registration cost for non-member institutions is $150 per each transfer fair. Non-WCHSCR members register online at: non-member registration. Please note, non-member institutions must be regionally accredited to participate in fall transfer fairs. Should a cancellation be necessary for any specific transfer fair, no refunds will be processed after that specific fair's published registration deadline. Click "here" to register.


Registration for each WCHSCR fall transfer closes 2 weeks before the date of each individual fair. Late registrations are not guaranteed to be advertised on host school's promotional materials.


If you have questions please contact Myndee Ronning, Chair Transfer Fair Commission Myndee.Ronning@cwu.edu.

2018 Dual-Credit Workshop

What:            Learn more about Washington's Dual Credit opportunities, including College in the
                      High  School, Running Start, Advanced Placement, Cambridge, International
                      Baccalaureate, and Tech Prep    

For Whom:  High school and higher education educators, administrators, and counselors

When:           October 18th & 19th, 2018.

Where:          South Puget Sound Community College, Lacey
Fee:              $40
Workshop Schedule:

 - Day one starts with 10:00 a.m. check-in; working lunch included and wraps up by 5:15 p.m.
 - Day two starts with 8:30 a.m. welcome and light breakfast and wraps up before 1:00 p.m.

Lodging Info:  Holiday Inn Express, Lacey.  You will be staying with the "WA Council Dual Credit Workshop".


Registration will be available soon. Check back for updates.


Contact: Valerie Frey, vfrey@pierce.ctc.edu, Commission Chair, for additional information


2019 College Planning Days

The Washington Council's College Planning Day provides a one-stop opportunity for your high school sophomores, juniors, and undecided seniors to learn about Washington State's higher education options.


CPD Dates 2019

 

March  6th - Heritage University = David Wise, Wise_D@heritage.edu

March 12th - WSU Tri-Cities = Erika Rivera, erika.rivera@wsu.edu

March 25th - Western Washington U = Stephanie Cheng, chengs@wwu.edu

March 25th - Wenatchee Valley College = Lucero Martinez, lmartinez@wvc.edu

March 26th - UW Bothell = Muriel Montenegro, murielm@uw.edu

March 26th - Spokane Falls CC = Lori Williams, Lori.Williams@sfcc.spokane.edu

March 27th - South Seattle C = Christian Granlund, Christian.Granlund@seattlecolleges.edu

March 27th - Walla Walla CC @ Clarkston = Miguel Inzunza, miguel.inzunza@wwcc.edu

March 28th - UW Tacoma = Megan Cooley, megan61@uw.edu

March 28th - Clark College = Vanessa Watkins, vwatkins@clark.edu


The Washington Council does anticipate the availability of some funds for bus subsidies in 2019. Our request form is available through January 15th. Questions can be sent to Melody Ferguson at fergusma@plu.edu.


For general information or questions regarding College Planning Days contact Commission Chair, Jami Buselmeier at jbuselmeier@life-christian.org


Previous Events

2018 Fall Counselor Workshops

These very popular workshops provide updated information to high school counselors. Held in nine locations throughout the state in September, counselors hear current information from four-year public and private universities, updates from OSPI and the Washington Student Achievement Council, network with fellow counselors, and have the opportunity for  Q & A.  

Registration is Open!!!  To register "click" on the workshop you would like to attend.


Sept. 10th  Spokane Community College
Sept. 11th  - WSU Tri-Cities
Sept. 12th  University of Washington-Bothell
Sept. 13th  Seattle Pacific University
Sept. 14th  - Wenatchee Valley College
Sept. 17th  The Evergreen State College
Sept. 18th  - Located at the Bellwether Hotel, hosted by WWU - Western Washington University
Sept. 19th  - Pacific Lutheran University
Sept. 20th  - WSU Vancouver

Contact: Jana Jaraysi, jjaraysi@ewu.edu Commission Chair for additional information.


2018 Transfer Advisor Workshops

Wednesday, August 22nd, 2018, 8:00 am - 3:00 pm - Green River Community Station Kent Campus.

Registration is Open!! To register click "here."

The Transfer Advisor workshop provides valuable information to community and technical college advisors. CTC advisors will hear updates from four-year public and private universities, the State Board of Community and Technical Colleges, the Washington Student Achievement Council, plus network with fellow advisors, and have the opportunity for Q&A.


Contact: Karl Smith, Kds@uw.edu Commission Chair for additional information.


8th Grade Event

Held annually in the spring on several Washington college campuses, the Washington Council 8th Grade Events are designed to introduce 8th graders to the available options for continuing their education after high school. Students rotate through a series of small group sessions which are designed to be interactive as well as educational. All events start promptly at 9:00 a.m. and run until 12:45 p.m.


Please note school districts are responsible for transportation costs and brown bag lunches. The event itself is free! Space is limited and may be capped per district. Contact the site coordinator for additional details and to sign up.


2018 Schedule:
March 23rd - Pierce College
= Ruthie Schindler, rschindler@pierce.ctc.edu  FULL
March 23rd - Peninsula College = Sara Rinearson, srinearson@pencol.edu
March 23rd - Columbia Basin College = Melanie Casciato, mcasciato@columbiabasin.edu FULL
March 23rd - Central Washington University = Andres Moreno, Andres.MorenoBenito@cwu.edu FULL
March 27th - Clark College
= Beth Means, bmeans@clark.edu FULL
March 27th - Renton Technical College =
Aaron Reader, areader@rtc.edu
March 28th - Eastern Washington University = Nate Marney, nmarney49@ewu.edu
March 29th - Western Washington University = Stephanie Cheng, chengs@wwu.edu


For general information or questions regarding 8th Grade Events contact Kim Hiatt, hiattk@wsu.edu.


Welcome to Washington Council

Welcome to the Washington Council for High School-College Relations (WCHSCR) website. The Washington Council operates for educational purposes and is organized to assist all Washington State students to access and engage in post-secondary opportunities at its member institutions.

If we can be of service to you in your work with students, please contact our Executive Secretary or any of our Board Members at info@washingtoncouncil.org.

Washington Council Contact Information:

Lucretia Folks, Executive Secretary

PO Box 2315
Olympia, WA 98507-2315

info@washingtoncouncil.org