The Washington Council

The Washington Council

The Washington Council for High School-College Relations operates for educational purposes, and is organized to assist all Washington state students to access and engage in post-secondary opportunities at its member institutions.

The Washington Council for High School-College Relations (WCHSCR)

2016-2017 Membership

No separate fee is required to join as a high school member of the Washington Council for High School and College Relations.  All OSPI-recognized high schools in the state of Washington with grade nine (9) or above are eligible for membership. Independent High School Counselors who are members of NACAC and/or PNACAC are eligible to be members.


Washington colleges should review our *Bylaws to determine if your institution is eligible for membership.

*Note: The bylaws are currently under review and some decisions regarding membership may be placed on hold until that review is completed.

Please join or renew your Membership

2016-2017 Fall Counselor Workshop - Higher Education Book

The 2016-17 Fall Counselor Workshop - Higher Education Book provides descriptions of two- and four-year public and private, non-profit institutions of higher education in Washington State. The latest edition is available to view and download here or on our Resource page.

2017 College Planning Days

The Washington Council's College Planning Day provides a one-stop opportunity for your high school sophomores, juniors, and undecided seniors to learn about Washington State's higher education options.


2017 Schedule:
March 07th - Heritage University = David Wise, wise.d@heritage.edu
March 14th - WSU Tri Cities = Kristy Gilmartin, kristy.gilmartin@tricity.edu
March 20th - Western Washington University = Tina Castillo, tina.castillo@wwu.edu
March 21st - UW Bothell = Muriel Montenegro, murielm@uw.edu
March 22nd - Seattle Pacific University = Leylani Orozco, orozcol@spu.edu
March 23rd - Walla Walla CC = Heather Markwalter, heather.markwalter@wwcc.edu  
March 23rd - UW Tacoma = Megan Beresford, megan61@uw.edu
March 24th - UW Tacoma = Megan Beresford, megan61@uw.edu 
March 27th - Bellevue College = Cathy Thruelsen, cathy.thruelsen@bellevuecollege.edu
March 28th - Clark College
= Abby Thompson, aethompson@clark.edu
March 29th - Wenatchee Valley College = Josh Brach, jbrach@wvc.edu
March 30th - Spokane Falls CC = Lori Williams, lori.williams@sfcc.spokane.edu


To request a bus subsidy, please submit information at https://admissions.wwu.edu/forms/college-planning-day-bus-subsidy-request by January 31st.


For general information or questions regarding College Planning Days contact Commission Chair, Jami Buselmeier at jbuselmeier@life-christian.org

2017 Dual-Credit Workshop

What:  Learn more about Washington's Dual Credit opportunities, including College in the High School, Running Start, Advanced Placement, Cambridge, International Baccalaureate, and Tech Prep

For Whom:  High school and higher education educators, administrators, and counselors

When:  March 24, 2017 

Where:  Central Washington University - Brooks Library

Click Registration to register for the Dual Credit Workshop and Agenda to view the schedule
Contact: Valerie Frey, vfrey@pierce.ctc.edu, Commission Chair, for additional information

2017 8th Grade College Exploration Days

This popular, high-energy event stresses to eighth-grade students the need to take control and make the best use of their high school experience.  Our goal is that each student will develop the mindset they will attend college.  Students participate in individual tracks that take them through a series of group sessions.  These sessions are designed to show why high school is important and how to get involved with the many opportunities available in higher education.


If you are a Washington middle school teacher or counselor who is interested in bringing your students to an 8th Grade Exploration Day, please contact the Site Coordinator of the location you wish to attend. Host sites are limited due to institutional capacity to host, and some sites are currently FULL.

2017 Schedule
March 17 - WSU Vancouver - FULL
Contact Site Coordinator - Colton Lindelof, Colton.lindelof@wsu.edu
March 23 - Western Washington University
Contact Site Coordinator - Freddy Collins, Freddy.collins@wwu.edu

March 24 - Pierce College - FULL
Contact Site Coordinator - Ruthie Schindler, rschindler@pierce.ctc.edu

March 24 - Peninsula College
Contact Site Coordinator - Jessie Manzer, jmanzer@pencol.edu
March 27 - Renton Technical College
Contact Site Coordinator - Andrea Lancaster, alancaster@rtc.edu

March 28 - Eastern Washington University - FULL
Contact Site Coordinator - Nate Marney, Nmarney49@ewu.edu

March 30 - Green River College
Contact Site Coordinator - LaBasha Alexander, lalexander@greenriver.edu


If you are a representative from a Washington community college or university who is interested in becoming a host site, and your institution has staffing resources to contribute to becoming a host site, please contact Commission Co-Chair Kim Hiatt, hiattk@wsu.edu or Anne White, awhite@pierce.ctc.edu

Previous Events

2016 Fall Transfer Fairs

Held from September- November at 30+ Washington State Community and Technical Colleges each year, the intended purpose of these college fairs is to assist students with questions and information about transferring to our state's four-year colleges.


Fall 2016 Transfer Fair Schedule, the Guidelines will be posted by September 2016.

Members can register for fairs by contacting Myndee Ronning at myndee.ronning@cwu.edu. Eligible non-member colleges may participate on a space-available basis for a ($150/event) fee. Non-member colleges must have regional accreditation to participate and can Register beginning August 15, 2016.


Registration for fairs closes 2 weeks prior to each individual fair. Late registrations are not guaranteed advertisement.  Should a cancellation be necessary for any given site, no refunds will be processed after the event's published registration deadline.


Questions or member registration: Myndee Ronning myndee.ronning@cwu.edu,

2016 Fall Counselor Workshops

These very popular workshops provide updated information to high school counselors. Held in nine locations throughout the state in September, counselors hear current information from four-year public and private universities, updates from OSPI and the Washington Student Achievement Council, network with fellow counselors, and have the opportunity for  Q & A.  To register click on the workshop location you would like to attend.


Sept. 12th  - Western Washington University
Sept. 13th  - The Evergreen State College
Sept. 14th  - University of Washington-Tacoma
Sept. 15th  - Seattle Pacific University
Sept. 16th  - Wenatchee Valley College
Sept. 19th  - Eastern Washington University
Sept. 20th  - Washington State University-Tri-Cities
Sept. 21st  - Washington State University-Vancouver
Sept. 22nd - University of Washington-Bothell


Contact: Jana Jaraysi, jjaraysi@ewu.edu Commission Chair for additional information.

2016 Transfer Advisor Workshops

Friday, April 15th - Columbia Basin College
Friday, April 22nd - Green River Community College - Kent Station
8 a.m. - 8:50 a.m. Optional New Advisor Workshop (Check-in at 7:30 a.m.)
9 a.m. - 12 p.m. (Check-in at 8:30 a.m.)


This workshop will provide valuable transfer admissions and program information from Washington State 4-year public and private baccalaureate institutions as well as updates from State agencies. 

To register, click your preferred location above.


Contact: Karl Smith, Kds@uw.edu Commission Chair for additional information.

Welcome to Washington Council

Welcome to the Washington Council for High School-College Relations (WCHSCR) website. The Washington Council operates for educational purposes and is organized to assist all Washington State students to access and engage in post-secondary opportunities at its member institutions.

If we can be of service to you in your work with students, please contact our Executive Secretary or any of our Board Members at info@washingtoncouncil.org.

Washington Council Contact Information:

Lucretia Folks, Executive Secretary

PO Box 2315
Olympia, WA 98507-2315

info@washingtoncouncil.org


Washington Council Listserv

Join our listserv to receive occasional updates.